OOTD: American Rag Sundress and Cardigan Combo

 

By Christine:

flower print design

Hey ladies and gents! This week my outfit of the day was constructed on the basis of me wanting to dress up a bit for a family function that I was attending. I asked Elkee if I could borrow one of her many cute dresses (she could totally open up a separate store of her personal closet just FYI) because I haven’t bought a new dress in I don’t know how long so my collection is lacking, to say the least. Anyway, I ended up choosing this super adorable floral dress by American Rag. It kind of reminded me of a babydoll dress (I know, it’s technically a sundress but who’s getting technical?) and what I really liked about it is the bodice that accentuates your waist right below your bust. The rest of the dress falls in a style that reminds me of a “freer form of pleats”, if that makes sense to anyone. It’s just such a cute dress and the minute I saw it I knew I wanted to pair it with a cardigan and boots to mimic something Courtney Love would have worn in like ’95. The boots I wore are brown motorcycle-meets-hipster boots that I bought a couple years ago at H&M. They have thus far held up pretty well, I mean I’ve even worn them in snow, so they were a great purchase. Only recently has the top of the left one been coming apart but it’s nothing that a little super glue can’t fix. The cardigan I wore is from an unknown brand that I got years and years back at Ross. If it’s possible to get sentimental over a simple black cardigan then I am guilty as charged. I got this when I was about 13 years old and it has been old faithful ever since. I remember changing the buttons once to purple ones but it didn’t match with everything so I changed them back to black. I remember letting my best friend Jocelyn borrow it a ton back in high school and she would let me borrow her Smiths t-shirts so it was a really awesome trading system we had going on. I remember there was a point in time where I considered getting rid of it because I felt that it fit me too small as I got older but after I started losing weight it fits relatively well now and I just can’t imagine why I ever even contemplated tossing it. My heart goes out to you, never-fading-always-warming-but-not-too-warm-like-just-the-right-amount-of-comfort, cardigan. I just realized that the shades I am wearing in this OOTD are the same I wore in my last and they were purchased at Target.

brown boots floral sundress floral dress cardigan

Thanks for stopping by folks! Please make sure to like/follow Karmic Vintage on Facebook and Instagram. And you can find me here as well FB, IG, Twitter. And if you haven’t yet checked out our online store, well, what are you waiting for! Shop Karmic Vintage!!! Much love!

4 comments


Leave a Reply

