Best Lipstick Colors

“I remember sitting in my ghetto, beat-up Honda Prelude and putting on that lipstick in the rearview mirror and being like, ‘Uh-huh, I like that. That’s the shit right there.’ I never stopped after that.”

                              -Gwen Stefani on the first time she wore red lipstick.

Best Lipstick

These are the three lipstick shades that I absolutely cannot live without. Red, Orange and Hot Pink. Let me tell you a little about my must have lipsticks in those three colors.

Wet n Wild Mega Last  Red Velvet  Cover Girl  Lip Perfection  Flame Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Intense #40

Wet n Wild Mega Last in Red Velvet

I very rarely leave the house without lipstick on. Even on those days when I don’t have time or energy to apply make-up I still make the effort to leave the house with a colorful pout. All I need is a some sunscreen, sunglasses and a bright lipstick and I honestly feel like I can conquer the world. I tend to switch up the color sometimes but I stick mostly to red. My all time favorite red lipstick is from Wet n Wild. It is from the Mega last collection and it’s called Red Velvet. It is very highly pigmented and glides on very smoothly. It provides a good amount of moisture to your lips but somehow manages to stay matte. The only bad thing about it is that if you don’t reapply at least every 5 hours or after eating or drinking something your lips will get dry and feathery. I am constantly complemented on this color and I love telling people that it only costs $1.00 at Walgreens! If you buy it on Walgreens online then it’s $2.00.

Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Intense #40

For those rare days that I don’t wear the red lipstick but still want to have very bright “notice me” lips I turn to orange. Make up forever’s Rouge Artist #40 to be exact. This lipstick is much more moisturizing than the one from Wet n Wild. It is not matte at all but the pigment is very intense, hence the name. It is another color that generates a lot of compliments so if you aren’t afraid to stand out I recommend this lipstick brand and shade very much. It costs $20.00 at Sephora but I think it is totally worth the money. You don’t need to put on a lot to get the bright pigment. It also tends to last so reapplication is not as necessary as it is with most lipsticks. I have had my tube for 2 years now and am only just now about to replace it. Great investment.

Cover Girl Lip Perfection Flame

Cover Girl’s Lip Perfection in Flame is my current favorite hot pink lipstick. It is not creamy or matte but the color is a gorgeous hot pink. Warning: If you are looking for a Nikki Minaj type pink pout this color is not for you. The pigment is not as strong as the other two but it is still bright enough to give you a bold pink mouth but light enough that you wont feel self-conscious wearing it if you are shy or new to lipstick. Price varies on this one, some places have it for $5.00 others charge as much as $14.00 for a tube! I’m not sure why that is but I honestly think that if you pay more than $11.00 for it you’re getting the shaft (and not in a good way) .

I have a huge lipstick collection with more colors but these are the ones I wear most. What colors do you prefer? (Psst Psst I love comments)

 

P.S. Follow us on Instagram @karmicvintage. You can also like Karmic Vintage’s Facebook page.

7 comments

    • Ruby Woo from Mac doesnt bleed when you eat but you will need a touch up afterwords. Its also flatterimg on all skin types. Other than that the only thing I have found helpful to red lipstick bleeding is lipliner and constant touch ups….and keep that mirror within arms length. Red lips are high maintenance lol


Leave a Reply

