Omega 3 Rich Recipe: Chocolate Brownie Muffins with Avocado & Flaxseed

I feel very blessed this month! Although I am having some financial and other difficulties in life my friends, family and other assorted loved ones have been incredibly supportive. My mom and sisters in particular have helped me out a great deal. Thank god for those three ladies I don’t know what I would do without them! My friends have been great too, they lend and ear and helping hand whenever neccessary and for that I am beyond grateful.

Here I am with my mother and two younger sisters on the Queen Mary last December. (I’m so jealous of the Juicy Couture coat my mother is wearing!)

queen mary fam pic

My boyfriend’s family has also been great. On Friday, his brother drove up from San Diego with his wife and two lovely daughters and dropped off some couches for us. We have been using yoga mats as our furniture in our living room for almost a year now so it was truly a godsend!

My bf and I enjoying our new furniture. From 

New Couches

I love to keep good karma going so I baked them these Omega 3 rich Chocolate Brownie Muffins to show my appreciation.

Baking Stuff!

I substituted the avocado for butter and instead of eggs I used flaxseed. I have made this recipe before, but without the substitutions. I found it on a blog called A Full Measure of Hapiness. I also switched out the whole wheat flour that the recipe called for and used regular flour. Last time I baked these I did use the whole wheat flour, however the taste of the whole wheat flour is very prominent and since two of the people that the brownie muffins are for are children, I didn’t want them to have an obviously healthy taste. 

I decided to use avocado instead of butter becaue of it’s myriad health benefits. I realize avocado’s   have fat in them just as butter does but if I am going to have fat or give fat to others I want to give them healthy fats. Also, avocados are packed with Omega 3’s! Omega 3’s are incredibly awesome in case you didn’t know. In the past year, thanks to Omega 3’s and other diet changes my skin has gotten so much better and I have dropped some extra pounds. I have also heard Omega 3’s are good for your brain.  Which brings me to the reason I substituted  flaxseed for eggs in the recipe. Eggs are also very healthy but the calorie content is higher than flaxseed and there is already so much sugar in the recipe so I decided to use them to bring the calorie count down and the Omega 3 count up. Flaxseed is also packed with Omega 3s and it is great for regulating your apetitie. If you are a lady in your thirties who is as addicted to food as you are to fashion (aka me) flaxseed is essential! If you don’t regulate your apetitie how are you suppose to fit in to all of your fabulous outfits? Substituting flaxseed for eggs in baking is also a good option for all the vegan bakers out there.

Here is my modified recipe:

This was adapted from A Full Measure’s recipe who in turn adapted it from Barbara Bakes’s recipe.

  • A little over 1/3 C Avocado (I eyballed it)
  • 2/3 C unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 C sugar
  • 2 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 2 t vanilla extract
  • 2 Tbsp of flaxseed that have sat for 2 minutes in 6 Tbsp of water
  • 1 C milk
  • 2 C whole-wheat flour
  • 1 -1 1/2 C chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and fill muffin tins with paper liners. In a large bowl,  beat together the avocado, sugar, baking powder, salt, vanilla extract, and flaxseed. Avocado should smashed before adding it to the sugar, baking powder etc combo.

Baking w Avo

I used a small continer for the flaxseed and water to sit in.

IMG_20130121_132157

Add flour, milk, cocoa powder and mix these ingredients together evenly.

Spoon the mix in to the cups then bake! I preheated my oven to 270 degrees. I have read that when using avocado as a butter substitute when baking, you need to reduce the baking temperature by 25%. (The original recipe called for a 350 degree temperture)

Ready to bake

I do not remeber  how long they baked for but just check on them every 25 minutes or so. You will know they are done when the muffins have risen (the only kind of muffin top that a fashion blogger welcomes) and once a toothpick that has been stuck in the middle of the muffin comes out clean, in other words crumbs are not clinging to it. You will see melted chocoalte from the chocolate chips on the tothpick but that is acceptable. The end result is a muffin brownie hybrid as Lauren Zietsman from A Full Measure calls them 🙂

Muffins Done
 

Once the muffins were baked and cooled I put them in these adorable cellophane bags with hearts printed all over them and wrappped the little packages with a purple ribbon. I also used  these chic blank cards as thank you notes!

IMG_20130121_192122

In the future I would like to modify this recipe even further by substituting Quinoa flour for the regular flour and finding an acceptable sugar substitute as well as some type of healthy sugar-free chocolate chips. (Do those exist?)

LegalizeBaking

Thank you for stopping by everyone!! If you have time please take a moment to like Innerglamazon’s facebook page. I need two more likes to gain administrative insights!

Also, please be sure to check out my latest Outfit of The Day post!    I accidentally published it with no pictures yesterday but that problem has since been rectified. Check it out here.

5 comments

  1. Pingback: OOTD: Geometric Print Dress from Banana Republic | INNERGLAMAZON


Leave a Reply

